Lakeland Book Club

Reading good books with good friends in North Idaho

The Other Wes Moore: One Name, Two Fates | May, 2013 May 1, 2013

Filed under: Reading List — lakelandreads @ 12:00 pm
Tags:

The Other Wes Moore:  One Name, Two Fates by Wes Moore

Selected by Rachel Maughan

The Other Wes Moore

From Amazon.com:

Two kids named Wes Moore were born blocks apart within a year of each other.  Both grew up fatherless in similar Baltimore neighborhoods and had difficult childhoods; both hung out on street corners with their crews; both ran into trouble with the police.  How, then, did one grow up to be a Rhodes Scholar, decorated veteran, White House Fellow, and business leader, while the other ended up a convicted murderer serving a life sentence?  Wes Moore, the author of this fascinating book, sets out to answer this profound question.  In alternating narratives that take readers from heart-wrenching losses to moments of surprising redemption, The Other Wes Moore tells the story of a generation of boys trying to find their way in a hostile world.

“The chilling truth is that his story could have been mine. The tragedy is that my story could have been his.”

This book was selected because:

I picked this book because it makes me think about how lucky I am and how my life could be so different through circumstances completely beyond my control.    It reminds me that before I can judge anyone else for their life choices, their beliefs or how they may do something, I need to remember that I have no idea where they came from or what their life has really been like.  Stories like this remind me why I need to have compassion and why I can’t be complacent in my life.

 

Leave a Reply

